NCKL baseball coaches pay tribute to Cowboys and Irish | Sports

At the end of the 2021 high school baseball season, the North Central Kansas League head coaches awarded the honors to five Abilene Cowboys and three Chapman Fighting Irish baseball players.

The 2021 NCKL champion Clay Center Tigers, who finished the year as Class 4A state runners-up, had five players named to the All-League team. Wamego Red Raiders have won the most with seven recognized players.

Leading the Cowboy contingent were seniors Robbie Keener and Kaden Coup. Keener was named one of two All-League receivers on the NCKL team even though he spent the last half of the season at shortstop or on the mound for the Cowboys. Coup, who split his time on the mound or patrolling center field for Abilene, has been recognized by league coaches for his outfield defense and batting. Coup hit in first position for the Cowboys while Keener hit in clean up position.

Junior Abilene Carter Taplin was named to the league team as an infielder after showing his glove at the infield midfield and third base positions. Freshman Stockton Timbrook earned honorable mention infielder for his play at third base as the Cowboys finished the season 10-11. Fellow freshman Zach Miller was named an All-League Utility for defensive play in both the outfield and infield for Abilene in his freshman season of high school baseball.

Chapman juniors Torin Cavanaugh, Camden Liebau and Tate Milton earned All-League recognition from league coaches. Cavanaugh joined Abilene’s Keener behind the plate on the league roster. Liebau was recognized as an infielder and Milton was an outfielder for the 7-14 Fighting Irish.

End of season individual stats were not available for the Reflector-Chronicle.

NCKL All-League Baseball 2021

Chase Parker, RS, Concordia

Keegan McDonald, SR, Clay Center

Ryan Erickson, SR, Wamego

James DeRouchey, JR, Wamego

Ayden Price, SR, Marysville

Josh Ferguson, SR, Clay Center

Torin Cavanaugh, JR, Chapman

Robbie Keener, SR, Abilene

Connor Halbert, SR, Marysville

Mark Hoffman, SOPH, Clay Center

Wyatt Trost, SR, Concordia

Dawson Tajchman, SOPH, Wamego

Colyer Brummett, JR, Wamego

Carter Taplin, JR, Abilene

Camden Liebau, JR, Chapman

Stockton Timbrook, FR, Abilene

Jon Haggard, SR, Marysville

Brady Glaves, SR, Clay Center

Hayden Oviatt, SOPH, Wamego

Chas Carlgren, RS, Concordia

Hayden Nutsch, JR, Wamego

Aaron Matthews, SR, Wamego

Hunter Schroesder, RS, Concordia

Nick Vignery, SR, Concordia

Tanner DeMars, SR, Clay Center

Comments are closed.